Our Leadership

Interim Moderator

Rev. Alton Ruff

The Kirk-Session at Emmanuel

Session is one of the four courts of the Presbyterian Church in Canada and is the highest decision-making body in any congregation.  The Session of Emmanuel is a group of elected Elders including the Minister.  Our congregation’s Session is made up of seven dedicated Elders and our Minister who sees to the Spiritual guidance of our congregation as well as providing good governance and wisdom.

Members of Session are elected by the congregation from the members of the congregation and given a mandate to provide prayerful support, membership care, guidance and spiritual leadership to the church and community.  Our Session meets once each month, and may also have a joint meeting with the Board of Managers. Meet the members of our Kirk-Session below:

Robert Marritt: Clerk of Session   session@epcn.ca

Lynne Dodd:  Representative Elder to Presbytery

Kathryn Bloomfield                                                                                                                                                                        Debra Currie                                                                                                                                                                                     George Dodd                                                                                                                                                                                      Sandy Marritt


The Board of Managers

At Emmanuel, the Board of Managers is a group of volunteers drawn from our Church membership that oversee all financial and building management issues and concerns. They do this through careful thought and prayer as followers of Christ. The Board works closely with Session to whom they are also accountable.

The Board does many things. Its tasks can be divided up into two groups:

  1. Care of the Church building and
  2. Stewardship of the Church finances.

These tasks range from simple lawn care, building security and upkeep, snow shovelling to undertaking major renovations within the Church as well as investing and spending monies on behalf of the Church. Meet the members of our Board of Manager’s below:

Debra Currie: Chairperson   board@epcn.ca

Diane Collins: Vice Chair

Stan Gerynowicz: Secretary

Gary Milne

George Dodd

Rae Hockley